The California High School Proficiency Examination (CHSPE) is a program established by California law (Education Code §48412). If a student is eligible to take the test, he or she can earn the legal equivalent of a high school diploma and be excused from attending school by passing the CHSPE.
Students are eligible to take the test if they:
are at least 16 years old, or
have been enrolled in the tenth grade for one academic year or longer, or
will complete one academic year of enrollment in the tenth grade at the end of the semester during which the next regular administration will be conducted.
Students must have some form of photo identification, including driver's license, DMV-issued identification card, school ID, etc. which will be presented at the test.
Students must register for the test at least a month in advance. Late registration is available at an additional fee.
The cost for the test is $92, which is payable by money order or cashier's check only. Registration for the CHSPE is available only through the Sacramento County Office of Education.